Dream Video

Dreams are so weird to me.  They never really make sense, and the story line is always out of order.  I wanted to carry that same feeling of disorientation and wonder throughout this project.  Dreams are supposedly an accumulation of past events, experiences, and memories.  Although there are not always pleasant, I wanted to make this dream psychedelic.  When exploring other dream sequences for inspiration for this project, I was most drawn to the scenes of high contrast of colors.  Not being able to use color effects through the software, I played with a sort of light projector to get that colorful effect.  I also wanted to mix media and nature; a contrast between synthetic and real. To create a constant for this video, so that the viewer is not totally disoriented, I had the peaceful crashing of waves; a sound I always associate with dreamy places.  I wanted to add a little depth to the sounds, and instantly thought of Alice in Wonderland.  The whole story is so trippy and fun, so by adding the little dialogue, I hope that viewers create a connection between my video and the Alice’s psychedelic adventure.

Dreams are supposedly an accumulation of past events, experiences, and memories.  Although there are not always pleasant, I wanted to make this dream psychedelic.  When exploring other dream sequences for inspiration for this project, I was most drawn to the scenes of high contrast of colors.  Not being able to use color effects through the software, I played with a sort of light projector to get that colorful effect.  I also wanted to mix media and nature; a contrast between synthetic and real. To create a constant for this video, so that the viewer is not totally disoriented, I had the peaceful crashing of waves; a sound I always associate with dreamy places.  I wanted to add a little depth to the sounds, and instantly thought of Alice in Wonderland.  The whole story is so trippy and fun, so by adding the little dialogue, I hope that viewers create a connection between my video and the Alice’s psychedelic adventure.

Leave a Reply

