Performance/Documentation

Most people associate art with something physical like a painting or an image, but the power of performance is on the rise. Watching the examples of student work alongside professional performances, I noticed a trend of all the great performances; they drew a reaction from the viewer. For my performance, I wanted to get that reaction of “why is she doing that?” and “how does that make me feel about this topic?”. I was originally going to apply sample makeup products to my face in the makeup store, Ulta. To make sure I did not interfere with the public, I did it in a more private natural setting instead. In the documentation, the viewer can see me applying makeup to my face without a mirror, sloppily done, and it looks all wrong. I want to push the viewer to think about why society uses makeup. People, but mostly girls, use makeup to cover up their blemishes, to make themselves more “beautiful”, but I did the opposite.

Revised:

Most people associate art with something physical like a painting or an image, but the power of performance is on the rise. Watching the examples of student work alongside professional performances, I noticed a trend of all the great performances; they drew a reaction from the viewer. For my performance, I wanted to get that reaction of “why is she doing that?” and “how does that make me feel about this topic?”.  In the documentation, the viewer can see me applying makeup to my face without a mirror, sloppily done, and it looks all wrong. I want to push the viewer to think about why society uses makeup. People, but mostly girls, use makeup to cover up their blemishes, to make themselves more “beautiful”, but I did the opposite.

Leave a Reply

